Behind closed doors

DSCF0572

People often praises me for appearing so positive about my daughter’s condition.

To these people, I’d like to say:

> Every Human Being who faces hardship in life will automatically try to handle the situation to the best of their capability. This is Human nature, isn’t it?

> Having a child with Special needs didn’t transform me into a Super mum or a Super Hero. Far from that… Most of the time, I am feeling weak and vulnerable.

> I have not accepted Autism but I acknowledged its presence and its impact in our lives.

> Some days, I am “tolerant” and some days, I lack patience (my number one weakness!). On these misty days, I feel like a complete failure. I am the spoilt child in front of my daughter who is demonstrating so much altruism and compassion.( Altruism and compassion, features you “presumably” hardly find in people with Autism…)

> I am the mother, I am the Neurotypical but at the end of the day, I am learning a big deal of wisdom from this child.

2 thoughts on “Behind closed doors

  1. As salaamu alaykum sis, mabrooks on your pregnancy… I’ve just had a baby and I’m already watching her like a hawk for any signs of ASD (my eldest daughter has HFA) all we can do is ask for Khair from Allah.

    Do email me in sha Allah as I would like to keep in contact with Muslims going through the same difficulties.

    • Wa aleykum assalam sis, sorry for the late answer. Here is my email:autismtaughtmesabr@yahoo.com. I ‘ll try to keep in touch as much as possible inshAllah. x

Leave a Reply

