My daughter’s future

Well, my daughter is autistic…But…I do have high expectations for her. As I lately confessed, I would like my daughter to become a doctor and a hafidha. However, I do agree that I should allow her some freedom in regard to career’s choice. So inshallah, if she wants, she could alternatively become a surgeon, a dentist, a lawyer, an accountant, an engineer or a successful business woman.DSCF0471                                                                                                                                                                           To be honest, it still looks like there is a long way to go before we manage to reach that goal.But inshAllah, it will happen! InshAllah, she will achieve the Top of the Tops and go as far as her abilities allow her. I believe that Allah is omnipotent so I believe in my daughter’s potential.

 Alhamdulillah, things have evolved and Autistics are no more exclusively meant to be sent to Mental institutions.  Just imagine five seconds if Temple Grandin’s mother had not defied her paediatrician’s recommendations? We would never have benefited from such an awesome advocate who holds a PHD! By the way, not every “neurotypical” is a postgraduate.       

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Once again, I am urging you to watch Temple Grandin’s conferences. In of them, she advised parents on their children’s career’s option depending on their way of reasoning and thinking.*

Like all parents, I would like my daughter to be as independent as possible and this, before I die. inshAllah I pray that the day the Angel of death will come for me, I could die in peace without worrying about her. Although I know I have to accept my fate, I just hope that I won’t die anytime soon because she’s still got so much to learn. If this shall happen, my greatest concerns are: > Who will be looking after her? > Who will be carrying on the work I am doing with her?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     But, SubhanAllah, I need to pull myself together…Right now! I am a Muslim and whatever the outcome might be, I put my trust in Allah who is the best of planners.

*Temple Grandin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wt1IY3ffoU

4 thoughts on “My daughter’s future

  1. May Allah give you (and us all!) strength, and allow us to be the means for continuing to care for and educate these children in a way pleasing to Him. Trust in Allah. InshaAllah, Allah will take care of them after we are gone, like the two orphans of Surat al-Kahf:
    “And as for the wall, it belonged to two orphan boys in the city, and there was beneath it a treasure for them, and their father had been righteous. So your Lord intended that they reach maturity and extract their treasure, as a mercy from your Lord.” [Qur’an, 18:82]

  2. Aameen to your dua. My dream for my 6 yr old son on the spectrum is to be a scholar in Islam and a professional too Insha Allah :). Nothing is impossible with the help of Allah.

Leave a Reply

