Sensory Processing Disorder

What is Sensory processing disorder?

“Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD) is a neurological disorder that causes difficulties with processing information from the five senses: vision, auditory, touch, olfaction, and taste, as well as from the sense of movement (vestibular system), and/or the positional sense (proprioception). For those with SPD, sensory information is sensed, but perceived abnormally. Unlike blindness or deafness, sensory information is received by people with SPD; the difference is that information is processed by the brain in an unusual way that causes distress, discomfort, and confusion.” (by Chantal Sicile-Kira in the Autism Advocate, Psychology today published 02/03/2010 *)

Many  individuals with Autism are affected by SPD. Sometimes, it is all of their senses that are affected. Sometimes, it is just one, two or three of them. But, it is not only Autistics who are concerned, I am myself affected by this disorder and as far as I know I am not Autistic.

My nightmare is an addition of my youngest daughter whinging +  my eldest one playing loudly + my husband watching some crazy boxing fights on Youtube  + my Washing machine on spinning mode   + very bright lighting in the house.

My O My! These are a couple of adjectives that I found to describe as accurately as possible my state of mind in such circumstances: boiling, tense, flustered, distressed, upset. When things go really bad, I can almost hear my heart beats and this is when I would also probably turn aggressive and argue with my husband for no apparent reason. Alhamdulillah, I can voice my discomfort but it is not the case for my  daughter.                                                                                                                                                                                                                Below is a list of the tricks I am using with my daughter to help her coping with it.

                                                                  Tricks
Bright lights Sunglasses
Loud noises Hear plugs   or a MP3 player (with some relaxation tunes like bird, ocean or rain sounds)
Teeth   brushing `Colgate Kids Motion Toothbrush ,£3 only at Asda!

I am also curious to know about the tricks you are using with you own children. Don’t be shy and leave a comment please!

*http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-autism-advocate/201003/what-is-sensory-processing-disorder-and-how-is-it-related-autism

Leave a Reply

