Married life

I would like to dedicate this post to my dear husband. I am so happy to be your wife, love you, mwah!

                                                                                                                                                                 On several occasions, he has been asking me if I had ever told “my readers” how “good” he was as a husband. He is right I have to let you know that I am blessed to have him in my life although I do often moan at him for being a child. I do complain a lot. As I mentioned previously, I am the “Mo Farah of impatience”. But Alhamdulillah (Praise be to God), my husband is the “Jessica Ennis of patience” (with me).

Having an healthy relationship with my husband has definitely a positive impact on my children. Marriage is not always easy. Nothing to do with Fairy tales. Don’t be lured: “happily ever after”, not always! Marriage is more of a work in progress. It is also an institution that can be endangered by the stress caused by the handling of day-to-day life, financial issues, health issues, children, bugging in-laws etc…

In the past, my husband and I did have big downs but we have been both determined to make things work. We “enforced” strong family ties out of love for each other and for the sake of the girls. The children mean everything to us and we are doing a lot of concessions on our own needs and desires for them. Nevertheless, too many concessions can lead to frustrations and frustrations to conflicts. To compensate, we are striving to maximize the time we are spending together, only the two of us.  We both work and we don’t have family leaving nearby to babysit so it is quite a huge struggle.  But we have to do it even if it is only to sit down on the sofa together and watch TV. I don’t want to end up meeting with him only for arguing. I don’t want the word husband to be synonymous of anger, rage, resentment but I’d rather like to think about horse, charming, Snow White. Lol, just kidding but I know, you did get my point.

Finally, how much does my daughter’s condition affect our relationship? Believe me, not that  much!  Rushing around for workshops, therapies, appointments, of course, requires a big deal of organization, structure and discipline. Oops! My husband is an artist, a freestyler, guided by his own vibe. I am the Ruler in all the “Academic” bit of our life and he is the “Emotional support” Coordinator. He is the laid-back buddy.We are opposites who complement each other, Alhamdulillah!

3 thoughts on “Married life

  1. Mabruk for your success in your marriage. What you have achieved is something truly magical. It is sometimes hard to hold on in a world that tells you that you’re better off alone.
    MashAllah. May you be granted many more years of happiness and barakah. Ameen

Leave a Reply

